Skip to content
BangorCountsBangor, in numbers.Local help →

Bangor · Northern Ireland

Community life

Ards and North Down council area. Every figure carries its own date.

A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.

People aged 65 or over

22.1%

21 March 2021 · Ards and North Down

Show the workings

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-a02.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

All usual residents

36,225 out of 163,660.

Source and method →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.3%

21 March 2021 · Ards and North Down

Show the workings

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-d01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

11,909 out of 163,659.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

19.2%

21 March 2021 · Ards and North Down

Show the workings

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-g01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

All usual residents aged 16 and over

25,684 out of 133,990.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent

34.1%

21 March 2021 · Ards and North Down

Show the workings

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-g01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

All usual residents aged 16 and over

45,752 out of 133,990.

Source and method →

Different needs within the area

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.4% to 12.5%

People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 3.4% in Cultra to 12.5% in West Winds — a gap of 9.1 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 40 of 40 current wards with comparable figures.

Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People reporting bad or very bad health · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Cultra3.4%1364,004
Clandeboye4.2%1754,187
Ballymagee4.6%1894,119
Ballygowan4.6%2034,369
Helen's Bay4.7%1833,900
Killinchy4.7%1773,737
Bryansburn4.8%1823,759
Cronstown5.4%2424,480
Ballyholme5.5%2153,892
Silverbirch5.7%2123,728
Rathmore5.8%2153,699
Comber South5.9%2233,786
Ballycrochan5.9%1843,121
Comber West6.1%2313,807
Broadway6.3%2163,423
Glen6.4%2874,518
Holywood6.7%2734,066
Warren6.9%2964,308
Harbour6.9%3284,752
Scrabo6.9%2954,258
Silverstream6.9%2753,963
Loughries7.2%3004,172
Ballygrainey7.2%4556,302
Groomsport7.3%2643,631
Kircubbin7.4%3274,397
Rathgael7.5%2763,682
Movilla7.6%3224,245
Loughview8%3714,661
Bloomfield8.3%3464,188
Comber North8.5%3213,792
Donaghadee8.6%3403,973
Portavogie8.9%3423,863
Castle9.3%3734,028
Carrowdore9.5%4074,262
Ballywalter9.9%4594,645
Gregstown10.4%3303,184
Portaferry10.8%3823,540
Conway Square11.3%4894,317
Kilcooley11.7%5164,424
West Winds12.5%5564,463
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 65 or over

7.9% to 36.3%

People aged 65 or over ranged from 7.9% in Ballygrainey to 36.3% in Groomsport — a gap of 28.5 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 40 of 40 current wards with comparable figures.

Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 65 or over · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Ballygrainey7.9%4966,301
Movilla11.3%4804,244
Clandeboye13.1%5474,189
Ballymagee13.6%5614,120
Kilcooley16%7064,423
West Winds16.4%7324,467
Cronstown16.5%7404,481
Ballygowan16.6%7234,368
Bloomfield17%7114,189
Silverstream19.2%7583,957
Loughview19.3%8994,663
Portavogie19.3%7453,864
Kircubbin19.4%8554,396
Rathgael19.6%7213,685
Glen20.9%9444,522
Portaferry21%7433,545
Carrowdore21.1%9014,261
Silverbirch21.6%8043,729
Conway Square21.6%9344,322
Harbour22%1,0444,752
Comber North22.4%8493,791
Loughries22.7%9484,169
Castle23.2%9364,029
Comber South23.5%8913,786
Ballywalter24.2%1,1234,643
Killinchy24.6%9213,738
Gregstown25.7%8193,184
Warren26%1,1194,310
Ballyholme26.2%1,0193,891
Holywood26.7%1,0874,067
Donaghadee26.9%1,0703,973
Comber West27%1,0293,808
Cultra27.1%1,0854,008
Scrabo28.8%1,2254,259
Rathmore30.4%1,1243,699
Bryansburn30.9%1,1623,757
Broadway32.6%1,1143,422
Ballycrochan33.2%1,0363,118
Helen's Bay33.4%1,3053,902
Groomsport36.3%1,3193,631
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

10.6% to 32%

People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 10.6% in Cultra to 32% in West Winds — a gap of 21.4 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 40 of 40 current wards with comparable figures.

Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 16+ with no qualifications · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Cultra10.6%3513,312
Ballymagee11.8%3883,285
Helen's Bay12.3%4013,271
Ballyholme12.7%4083,222
Clandeboye13.4%4463,325
Silverbirch14%4313,078
Harbour14.2%5824,103
Killinchy14.2%4403,093
Holywood14.9%5063,402
Ballycrochan15.2%3962,611
Bryansburn15.5%4883,146
Broadway15.6%4532,903
Cronstown15.7%5753,651
Rathmore16.3%5093,121
Ballygowan16.9%5983,529
Warren17.3%6213,598
Glen17.8%6513,653
Ballygrainey18%8464,687
Groomsport18.3%5723,119
Scrabo19%6763,560
Rathgael19%5753,022
Loughries19.1%6543,420
Comber West19.2%6253,254
Donaghadee19.7%6583,348
Comber South20.1%6293,137
Silverstream20.4%6573,226
Loughview20.4%7633,738
Bloomfield20.7%6733,255
Kircubbin20.8%7423,561
Portaferry21.2%6212,924
Movilla21.2%7023,304
Carrowdore23.7%8283,489
Ballywalter24.3%9263,816
Comber North24.6%7663,112
Castle24.8%8283,342
Gregstown26.2%7072,702
Portavogie26.7%8203,075
Kilcooley26.9%9263,448
Conway Square30.9%1,1223,636
West Winds32%1,1243,513
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Local places and initiatives

Bangor seafront, Skippingstone to Bank’s Lane

Bangor Waterfront redevelopment

Linked projects aim to improve the seafront, public spaces, recreation and access to the water.

Design, planning preparation and procurement progressing · evidence dated 2026-06-11

Responsible body: Ards and North Down Borough Council

Latest evidence: The June update lists waterfront public spaces, Pickie Fun Park, watersports and marina workstreams. Court House Phase II is no longer proceeding; older five-project lists are superseded.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Place and Prosperity Committee: Bangor Waterfront update, June 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep public access central to Bangor’s changing waterfront plans →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Bangor Castle and potential city-centre museum site

Future use of Bangor Castle

The council is exploring a hotel and wedding venue while retaining ownership and considering a new museum location.

Principle approved; business cases being developed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Ards and North Down Borough Council

Latest evidence: The council describes approval in principle in May 2025 and further business cases. It is not a completed conversion, confirmed hotel operator or sale of the castle.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Bangor Castle →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep public access central to Bangor’s changing waterfront plans →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Bangor Sportsplex

Bangor Cycle Park at the Sportsplex

The proposed park combines a pump track, BMX track, inclusive cycling, learn-to-ride space and cross-country trails on unused council land.

Works scheduled from August 2026; actual start and completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Ards and North Down Borough Council

Latest evidence: The council schedules works from 24 August 2026 with completion expected in spring 2027. The five cycling facilities would share a community space and workshop. These are planned facilities; the page does not establish completed construction or improved health outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Bangor Cycle Park at the Sportsplex →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make the cycle park usable by different ages and abilities →

Plan homes and care around an older population →

Bring support closer to people in poor health →

How to track delivery →

Look beneath the area average →