Skip to content
BangorCountsBangor, in numbers.Local help →

Bangor · Northern Ireland

Projects

Ards and North Down council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Named local schemes and plans, with the responsible body and the latest stage established by the source checked. A proposal, funding announcement and completed project are different things.

Bangor seafront, Skippingstone to Bank’s Lane

Bangor Waterfront redevelopment

Linked projects aim to improve the seafront, public spaces, recreation and access to the water.

Design, planning preparation and procurement progressing · evidence dated 2026-06-11

Responsible body: Ards and North Down Borough Council

Latest evidence: The June update lists waterfront public spaces, Pickie Fun Park, watersports and marina workstreams. Court House Phase II is no longer proceeding; older five-project lists are superseded.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Place and Prosperity Committee: Bangor Waterfront update, June 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep public access central to Bangor’s changing waterfront plans →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Bangor Castle and potential city-centre museum site

Future use of Bangor Castle

The council is exploring a hotel and wedding venue while retaining ownership and considering a new museum location.

Principle approved; business cases being developed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Ards and North Down Borough Council

Latest evidence: The council describes approval in principle in May 2025 and further business cases. It is not a completed conversion, confirmed hotel operator or sale of the castle.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Bangor Castle →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep public access central to Bangor’s changing waterfront plans →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Bangor Sportsplex

Bangor Cycle Park at the Sportsplex

The proposed park combines a pump track, BMX track, inclusive cycling, learn-to-ride space and cross-country trails on unused council land.

Works scheduled from August 2026; actual start and completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Ards and North Down Borough Council

Latest evidence: The council schedules works from 24 August 2026 with completion expected in spring 2027. The five cycling facilities would share a community space and workshop. These are planned facilities; the page does not establish completed construction or improved health outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Bangor Cycle Park at the Sportsplex →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make the cycle park usable by different ages and abilities →

Plan homes and care around an older population →

Bring support closer to people in poor health →

How to track delivery →

What this local evidence covers

3 reviewed plans and projects

1 have a source-dated stage; 0 have some funding evidence; 0 have some cost evidence. These counts do not prove that funding or costs are complete.

Check each project →

0 verified ward links

Project locations cannot be treated as a map of who benefits. Each record explains any verified ward association.

Read the sources and limits →
What is still missing

The reviewed local schemes are a selected evidence collection, not a complete council capital programme.

Current service capacity, incomes, waiting lists, school demand and project outcomes need additional verified local evidence before firm claims can be made.

Project locations have not been matched to official ward boundaries. No ward-specific delivery claims are inferred.

Costs, funding and benefits are only reported where the selected official evidence states them; blank fields are not zero.